After what I have witnessed over the past few weeks I have never been more proud to be a part of a community before in my entire life. And I have been in my fair share of teams, groups, scenes, sub-cultures, and communities. In case you haven’t heard-Destiny Community Con 2016 was this past weekend. And the week leading up to it, they did a charity stream on Twitch that went for a week straight. 24/7, non-stop! They had all the big names in the Destiny stream community streaming and hosting on the channel. I believe their goal at the beginning was to raise $250,000, which is what had been done in the past by a different video game charity event. However, by the end of it, when it was all said and done. They ended up raising $505,984.74  for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital! That is freakin incredible! I watched a majority of the stream over the week and it was truly heartwarming to see all the donations that were coming in and you can tell that each and every broadcaster truly loved what they were doing and that their hearts were behind it 100%. The Destiny community in general has reaffirmed my faith in humanity. It has reminded me that there actually is good people out there that care about other people than themselves. Even playing Destiny with them you will also notice that there is a ton of players out there willing to help you accomplish what ever it is you need to in your game. There is streamers carrying others in Raids and Trials daily. This is why it kind of gets to me a little when haters say that Destiny is a ‘dead game’. Well $505,000+ is sure a ton of money to be raised by a ‘dead community’. Not only that, if you skim through the Destiny directory on Twitch, you will see that there is no shortage of broadcasters streaming the game and that those channels aren’t exactly empty either. But I think that the best evidence of the state of the community is in the convention event itself. At the one-day event, they had to actually start turning people away at the doors due to overcrowding. I heard that they actually had to turn over 1,000 people away. Now while that truly sucks and I feel awful for those people (especially the ones reportedly from Germany), I also feel like there is a tiny silver lining in that cloud. I think that it shows a community thriving. One that is only going to get better from here on out. To remedy this issue they had this year, I have heard that they are going to have a multiple day event next year and that they are also rebranding it GuardianCon. The only details we really have at this time is that it will be once again held in Tampa, Florida and that ticket presale starts December 2016.

So as I said earlier, I think the Destiny community is doing just fine and, honestly, I feel like it is only going to get better from here on out. We have Rise of Iron dropping in just over two weeks and that should bring back a decent amount of lapsed Destiny players. Now, while Rise of Iron isn’t quite as big as the Taken King expansion was, it also isn’t no slouch either. There is a great amount of new content that we are getting in this DLC and I think it will hold us over for quite some time. Getting us closer and closer to the release of the eventual true sequel in 2017. Granted, Destiny 2 hasn’t been officially announced in the usual way, but Bungie has stated that it will come out sometime next year. So now is a great time to be a part of the Destiny community. And, if you have never played Destiny, and have been on the fence about trying it out for whatever reason, now is the perfect time to dive into the massive universe of Destiny. Bungie is offering up the Destiny Collection that has the base game, the three previous expansions, AND Rise of Iron for $60 (I believe). That is an INSANE amount of content for the price. I thought that I got into Destiny at a pretty opportune time a couple months back (which, honestly, it was) but there is going to be no better time than now to finally dive in and explore all the wonder that Destiny and the Destiny community has to offer. Give it a shot. You will not be disappointed. For more on Destiny, the community, and Rise of Iron-keep it locked right here on SportsNerdWeb!!….CHEERS!!

p.s. Here is some stats on the charity stream:

  • 172 Hours Broadcast
  • 14,963 Unique Donations
  • $505,984.74 Total Raised
  • Average Donation Amount $33.81
  • 100% To St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital