Sony had to have been feeling the pressure after Microsoft’s top notch E3 Press Conference. In my own personal opinion, I would say that Sony had a really strong showing as well but I also would NOT say that they blew Microsoft out of the water by any means either. Growing up, I have always been a huge Sony fan. I didn’t even own a Microsoft console until the Xbox 360. But since then I have become a huge fan of both companies, but I do prefer Sony a little more. With that being said, Sony did come out of the gate swinging for the fences! The showcase started off with a live orchestra and choir that lead right into a live gameplay demo of the next….God of War! After a split second, when I realized that the older hipster bearded man I was looking at was none other than Kratos, I nearly lost it. I had not heard any rumors or rumblings about a new God of War in the works and as evidenced in my E3 predictions article, I definitely did not see this coming. I mean, I figured that there would be another God of War down the line eventually, but it still took me by surprise and judging from the crowds reaction, I think it did them too.

Following the God of War gameplay demo, Brett Phipps came out and announced a new IP titled Days Gone. “We finally know what Sony Bend has been working on and it looks to be a very interesting title. Alluding to who or what the enemy is one would assume it’s a zombie apocalypse or a virus that’s wiped out most of the planet, and we follow a biker gang. Either way, count me in.”

After a brief trailer of Days Gone, the show moved quickly onto The Last Guardian, which has a new trailer and a lot more scenes than we’ve seen before. We even have a release date: October 25th, which is great news for a game that has been a long time coming.

Horizon Zero Dawn looks gorgeous, and finally getting a chance to see what we can get up to in this beautiful work only makes me want to play it more. Guerilla is truly spreading its wings here, let’s hope the team can deliver on what is huge promise.” That was Brett Phipps talking about Horizon Zero Dawn after new gameplay footage was shown.

The next game showed was Detroit Become Human. We first saw Detroit Become Human at E3 2015, and it’s back with a new trailer. What happens when androids designed to help humanity go wrong? It’s another decision-based adventure from Quantic Dream, known for the Heavy Rain series. You’ll play as an android, Connor, with some extra abilities that allow him to investigate crimes effectively.

What happened next was my favorite part of Sony’s conference. The unveiling of……..Resident Evil 7! I have always been a HUGE fan of the Resident Evil series, even of the more recent entries that a lot of fans have criticized for being to action heavy and abandoning the survival-horror elements that they pretty much invented. The trailer was entirely in first person view and it was also announced that RE7 would also be playable via VR. And we also got a release date for it already as well. Some time in January 2017.

There was also trailers and gameplay demos of Final Fantasy XV, Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare, Crash Bandicoot, and LEGO Star Wars.

And then one of the two moments that we ALL wished would happen, happened. (The other thing didn’t happen but I’ll get to that in a minute). After being unable to attend last year, I was really hoping to see him there this year and hopefully get to see what he is working on now. And that man is none other than the man himself, Hideo Kojima. Kojima was there. Kojima did unveil his next masterpiece. And in typical Kojima fashion, it looked amazing. It was subliminal and wrought with easter eggs and hidden elements. It’s one of those things that is really hard to explain and just has to be witnessed by ones self. I am thrilled and saddened at the same time. I am thrilled to see a game by Hideo Kojima that isn’t Metal Gear Solid. And i’m saddened, well for pretty much the same reason. The Metal Gear Solid games are some of my favorite games of all time. Bar none.

The only place where I think Sony dropped the ball on their press conference is the fact that they did NOT address the leaks and rumors about an upgraded console, where Microsoft got out in front of it as fast as they could and addressed it as soon as their press conference started. I just think Sony really missed a chance to garner some buzz heading into the summer and eventual busy fall and holiday time of the gaming year. But, I also could be missing something entirely here and Sony probably has a nice ace up their sleeve. Especially considering they still have the Tokyo Game Show in September, so I won’t hold too much against them. Continue to check back often for more post-show coverage of the 2016 Electronic Entertainment Expo. And don’t forget to follow!….CHEERS!!!!