To say that Uncharted 4 is my most anticipated game of the year is a huge understatement. I have always been a huge fan of the Uncharted games. Not only are the game mechanics solid and enjoyable, but I have always loved developer Naughty Dog’s emphasis on story telling. Who doesn’t love a good story? And I have been no different, especially when it comes to video games. In my opinion Naughty Dog has been one of the best studios at story telling in video games over the last decade. Not only have they proved that with the Uncharted series, but also with their epic action/adventure The Last of Us. In the short time that I have spent with Uncharted 4 so far, it seems that Naughty Dog has done the impossible and outdone themselves. The graphics and animation is so top notch, there has been numerous times I have forgotten that I am watching/playing a video game! The voice over work from the actors is stellar. You actually feel the emotion of the moment. I have no intentions of spoiling anything, but there was a particularly emotional scene in the first hour alone that had me a little watery eyed. The Uncharted series has always been really good at making you feel like a bad ass action hero, thanks to the solid shooting mechanics and the platforming isn’t too shabby at all either. One of the minor complaints in the first game in the series was that the hand to hand combat was a little sub par but was improved in the second and third entries. The hand to hand combat in the fourth installment has never been better. The cover and shooting mechanics are as solid as ever as well as the aforementioned platforming. In this entry, Nathan Drake has a new toy. A grappling hook, and it has already been quite handy. Naughty Dog also implemented a new stealth mechanic in Uncharted 4, which has worked quite well so far. The Uncharted series has been known for its trademark huge, over the top action sequences and I am very comfortable in saying that Uncharted 4 will NOT disappoint. I have played many games that advertised “destructible environments” but none has been this good at it. It seems that almost anything in the game world can be destroyed. Wood splinters, debris flies everywhere, objects fall off desks. There was even one instance when I took cover behind a large stack of cinder blocks thinking that should be a decent place to seek refuge. That simply was not the case. The blocks were destroyed by the deluge of bullets in seconds time and I was forced to keep on the move. Of course this keeps Uncharted’s frenetic action up to pace. The level of detail in this games is just unbelievable. There was one bit that should appeal to longtime series fans. I don’t want to give anything away but it isn’t too long in and it takes place in Drake’s house. The game world is so detailed, as I was walking around the house I noticed Elena’s degrees on her office walls, notes on the desk by her computers, even water spots on the faucet in the bathroom! Wash your sink every once in a while Drake! The only negative thing I can say about Uncharted 4 so far is that it seems to be one of those rare games that is so good that I don’t want to play it for ten hours straight and blow through it. I want to take my time and appreciate all that went into crafting it. Taking in all the detail, beauty, and grandeur. But at the same time I also don’t want to put it down and when i’m not playing it, I can not wait until I am. Once I have completed the main campaign I will post a full review, but I think it is already safe to assume that Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End will be a favorite for Game of the Year this winter….CHEERS!